Link to Saved By Vinyl Home Page
Link to Saved By Vinyl Home Page Based in Calgary, Alberta Send email to
Link to Saved By Vinyl Home Page Link to Saved By Vinyl Home Page Saved By Vinyl logo Releases from Saved By Vinyl

Shuyler Jansen

The Songs ~ Buy It

Today's Remains coverToday's Remains
(Vinyl Version)

From the first few verses of Today’s Remains it’s obvious that Shuyler Jansen is wearing his Sunday best. Recorded in Vancouver and produced by Juno award winner Steve Dawson, Today’s Remains is an auspicious follow-up to Shuyler’s country-electro-folk Hobotron (2004) and Old Reliable’s rocker The Burning Truth (2005). Once again distorting genres, Jansen and Dawson carefully sifted 10 songs from dozens of compositions to form a cohesive collection of truth-filled songs.

Opening with the slightly epic and grandiose “Pegasus”, Jansen braids a tale of infidelity, addiction, death and broken trust, re-occurring themes that seem to encompass the ten songs on Today’s Remains. Culled from several lifetimes of stories and songs and inspired by the words and music of Townes Van Zandt, Willie Nelson, Merle Haggard and Billy Joe Shaver, Jansen has delivered this decade’s country-folk classic. Strings, pedal steel, upright bass and Rhodes piano round out the album’s 70’s country-folk sound.

A musician for nearly 15 years, Jansen now resides in Saskatoon, SK, where he is a dedicated family man and songwriter. His music has taken him to the US, Netherlands, France, Belgium, UK and all over Canada. Jansen has contributed guitar, keyboards, bass and baritone to many studio recordings, including 4 releases with Old Reliable. He has been fortunate to collaborate with Oh Susanna, Jenny Whiteley, Calexico, Corb Lund, Luther Wright, Carolyn Mark, The Swiftys, Justin Rutledge and Howe Gelb.

The Songs

Side A

  1. Pegasus
  2. Play Fair
  3. Today’s Remains
  4. Hellhound

Side B

  1. Don’t Ask Why
  2. Jealous Girl
  3. Windswept
  4. Cowgirl
  5. Chief

With Chris Gestrin on keyboards, John Raham on drums, Keith Lowe on bass, the Greta Quartet (Meredith Bates, violin; Serena Eades, violin; Robin Streb, viola; Evan Bates, cello), and Karly Warkentin and Alice Dawson on additional vocals. Engineered by Sheldon Zaharko at The Factory, Vancouver. Mixed by David Travers-Smith at Found Sound, Toronto. Mastered by Golden Mastering. Words and music by Shuyler Jansen, except Cowgirl by Shuyler Jansen and Scott Franchuk.

You can purchase this album online from Saved By Radio
or contact our distributor, Outside Music.

On the Web
SBR Store
Back to Saved By Radio

Copyright © 2004-2010